About the Brandy Station Foundation


Brandy Station Foundation

P.O. Box 165

Brandy Station, VA 22714

Phone:  (540) 317-5581


Paula Johnson, President


Mission Statement:

The Brandy Station Foundation is a 501(c)-3 non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the natural and historic resources of the Brandy Station area of Culpeper County, Virginia.

While our focus is toward the Civil War history of the Brandy Station vicinity, our efforts are not limited to that time period or by any geographic boundaries.  We have been instrumental in the preservation of significant tracts of land related to the Battle of Brandy Station (June 9, 1863) and Kelly’s Ford (March 17, 1863).  We operate the Graffiti House, which serves as our visitor center and museum.


As part of the Friends of Culpeper Battlefields we support a new state park at the Brandy Station and Cedar Mountain battlefields. Together, the American Battlefield Trust and the Brandy Station Foundation have acquired and preserved about 1,400 acres across these two battlefields. As both the Culpeper County Board of Supervisors and Culpeper Town Council have articulated, bringing together this previously preserved acreage under the Virginia state park system would provide a distinctive destination for heritage and recreational tourism alike


Our goal is to ensure the history and heritage of the area is not “paved over” in our rush to progress.  Toward that end, Brandy Station Foundation has strong working partnerships in the community and with like-minded organizations.

Some of those organizations include:


- American Battlefield Trust

- Piedmont Environmental Council

- Friends of Cedar Mountain Battlefield

- Friends of the Wilderness Battlefield

- Museum of Culpeper History

- The Germanna Foundation

- The Friends of Culpeper Battlefields



President - Paula Johnson
Vice President – Howard Lambert
Treasurers: Peter and Peggy Mocarski
Secretary – Peggy Misch


Board of Directors:

Jane Brookins

Don Carlson
Helen Geisler

Greg Mertz
Larry Pullen

Rice Wagner
Paul Warmack



Brandy Station Foundation Advisory Committee:

Dr. Daniel Beattie
Joseph McKinney
Virginia Morton

John Orr
Cecilia Schneider-Vial
Tony Seidita

William Truitt, Jr.



Website questions, concerns or to report broken links, email: